The Doctorate is the third academic grade awarded by the University, after the Bachelor and the Master. There are three different titles possible at the Faculty of Science: Doctor of Mathematics (Doctor scientiarum mathematicarum), Doctor of Computer Science (Doctor scientiarum informaticarum) or Doctor of Science (Doctor rerum naturalium). This academic grade testifies that the holder has shown all the capacities to carry out high quality scientific research, based on an original personal work (thesis), an oral examination (thesis defence) and a public presentation.

More information: 

Departement of Chemistry   -   Chemin du Musée 9    -   CH-1700 Fribourg   -  Phone +41 26 / 300 87 00 or +41 26 / 300 87 30   -   Fax +41 26 / 300 97 38    -