Chemistry major

 

Changes of the Chemistry studies, effective in the Autumn Semester 2012

This notice provides preliminary information; the revised detailed Study Plans will be available shortly.

Two options will be offered in the Bachelor program:

 

"Bachelor Option recherche" (BSc-R)

This is the primary study plan, intended for students wishing to become professional chemists. It consists of 150 ECTS chemistry studies plus 30 ECTS of study of a Complementary Subject of your choice, such as Physics, Biology or Industrial Chemistry (offered by the “Ecole d’ingenieurs de Fribourg”).

 

"Bachelor Option enseignement" (BSc-E)

This study plan is intended for students wishing to become teachers at a gymnasium, i.e., to follow the DAES II program. It consists of only 120 ECTS of chemistry, allowing to obtain the entire Bachelor, with the 60 ECTS Complementary Subject which is required for DAES II studies, within 3 years of study.

 

The preliminary lists of lectures are available here. Candidates for the full BSc-R program should attend all lectures, candidates for the DAES II-oriented BSc-E program will skip the lectures printed in red.

 

Transition modalities

  • The transition modalities are very simple - everyone will continue under the new system.
  • Newly entering students and students who finished their first or second year must decide whether they want to pursue the BSc-R or the BSc-E Option. Please pass at the secretariat of the Decanat and fill out the corresponding form there.
  • Students who just finished their 1st year of study will continue their 2nd and 3rd years of studies according to the new BSc-R or BSc-E Options, depending on their choice.
  • Students who just finished their 2nd year of study will continue their 3rd year of studies according to the new BSc-R or BSc-E Options. Students who chose BSc-E will thus have more time to pursue their 60 ECTS complementary branch required for DAES II.
  • Students in exceptional situations, who began but did not quite finish their 2nd or 3rd year, please contact the student advisor.
  • Students entering the Master studies should chose from the new Master modules. Please contact the student advisor if you wish to take a Module in Bern or elsewhere.

 

Bachelor (BSc) 

The program of study of the BSc in Chemistry represents a university course of studies, comprising a basic scientific education in chemistry by its method- and problem-oriented nature. It enables one to enter a wide professional area. At the same time it provides the basis for lifelong learning, an indispensable requirement for professional success. In addition, the BSc in Chemistry forms the basis for advanced studies leading to the MSc in Chemistry. Every person who is in possession of a federal general qualification for university entrance (maturité fédérale /eidgenössisches Maturitätszeugnis) or any equivalent document will be admitted to the BSc degree program.

Each course of the BSc is taught in either German or French. Students can decide, in which of the two languages they want to express themselves. Occasionally, courses may be taught in English.

More information

Master (MSc)

The program of study of the MSc in Chemistry represents a scientific course of studies, allowing one to specialize in a specific subject. The MSc in Chemistry gives access to various professional activities in research, education, industry, commerce, and administration. The MSc is furthermore the entry requirement for the scientific work and deepened scientific education leading to a doctorate. When accompanied by a subsidiary subject (biology, geography, informatics, mathematics, or physics), the MSc allows one to enter a complementary didactics program leading to a qualification as a high-school teacher (Diplôme d’aptitude à l’enseignement du secondaire II / Fähigkeitszeugnis für das Höhere Lehramt II). Persons in possession of a BSc in Chemistry of the University of Fribourg or any other Swiss university are admitted to the MSc course of studies. Persons in possession of a BSc degree in a different subject or equivalent degrees (e.g. after graduating from an engineering school) can also be admitted to the MSc study program by analogy.

MSc courses are taught in English, German or French. For exams and written work (project reports, MSc thesis, etc.) students can choose between English, German or French.

More information


Departement of Chemistry   -   Chemin du Musée 9    -   CH-1700 Fribourg   -  Phone +41 26 / 300 87 00 or +41 26 / 300 87 30   -   Fax +41 26 / 300 97 38    -  
chimie-sciences@unifr.ch

Chemie im Hauptfach

 

Änderungen des Chemiestudiums (gültig ab Herbstsemester 2012)

Diese Mitteilung enthält vorläufige Informationen, die überarbeiteten und detaillierten Studienpläne sind in Kürze verfügbar.

Zwei Optionen werden im Bachelor-Studiengang angeboten:

 

"Bachelor Option recherche" (BSc-R)

Dies ist der Studienplan für Studenten, die Berufschemiker werden wollen. Das Studium beinhaltet Kurse über 150 ECTS in Chemie plus 30 ECTS eines Nebenfachs, welches frei gewählt werden kann. Mögliche Nebenfächer sind z. B. Physik, Biologie oder Industrial Chemistry (angeboten von der "Ecole d'Ingénieurs de Fribourg").

 

"Bachelor Option enseignement" (BSc-E)

Dieser Studienplan ist für Studenten, die Lehrer an einem Gymnasium werden wollen (DAES-II-Programm). Das Studium beinhaltet Kurse über 120 ECTS in Chemie (erforderlich für einen Bachelor) und 60 ECTS in einem Ergänzungsfach (erforderlich für DAES II) innerhalb von 3 Jahren Studium.

 

Die vorläufigen Listen der Vorlesungen finden Sie hier. Studierende des BSc-R Programms besuchen alle Vorlesungen, während Studierende für das DAES II-orientierte BSc-E-Programm die Vorträge in rot nicht besuchen.

 

Übergangsbestimmungen

  • Die Übergangsbestimmungen sind sehr einfach - alle werden nach dem neuen System weiterfahren.
  • Neu eintretende Studierende und StudentInnen die bereits das erste bzw. das zweite Studienjahr abgeschlossen haben, müssen sich für eine der neuen BSc-R oder BSc-E Optionen entscheiden. Bitte wenden Sie sich an das Dekanatssekretariat, wo Sie ein entsprechendes Formular ausfüllen.
  • StudentInnen die das erste Studienjahr abgeschlossen haben werden im 2. und 3. Jahr nach dem neuen Studienplan, Option ihrer Wahl, weiterfahren.
  • StudentInnen die das zweite Studienjahr abgeschlossen haben werden im 3. Jahr nach dem neuen Studienplan, Option ihrer Wahl, weiterfahren. Dies wird den DAES II Anwärtern mehr Zeit geben, ihrem 60 ECTS Zusatzfach nachzugehen.
  • StudentInnen in besonderen Situationen, die das 2. oder 3. Jahr begonnen aber nicht ganz abgeschlossen haben, wenden sich bitte an den Studienberater.
  • StudentInnen, die mit dem Masterstudium beginnen, sollten vier von den sechs neuen Mastermodulen wählen. Bitte wenden Sie sich an den Studienberater falls Sie Module auswärts belegen möchten.

 

Bachelor (BSc)

Das Studienprogramm des Bachelors in Chemie (BSc) stellt ein Universitätsstudium mit grundlegender wissenschaftlicher Lehre durch seine methoden- und problemorientierte Natur dar, was Zugang zu einem breiten, professionellen Gebiet ermöglicht. Gleichzeitig bietet es eine Basis für lebenslanges Lernen, eine unerlässliche Voraussetzung für den Erfolg im Beruf. Zusätzlich ist der Bachelor of Science in Chemie Voraussetzung für ein späteres Masterstudium. Jede Person, die in Besitz eines Eidgenössischen Maturitätszeugnis oder einem vergleichbaren Dokument ist, wird zum Bachelorstudium zugelassen.

Die Kurse im Bachelorstudiengang werden auf Französisch oder Deutsch gelehrt. Die Studierenden können sich für eine Sprache entscheiden. Gelegentlich werden Kurse auch auf Englisch unterrichtet.

Weitere Informationen

Master (MSc)

Das Studienprogramm des Master of Science in Chemie (MSc) stellt einen naturwissenschaftlichen Studiengang dar, der Spezialisierung in einem bestimmten Fachgebiet erlaubt. Der Master in Chemie ermöglicht Zugang zu verschiedenen professionellen Beschäftigungen in Forschung, Lehre, Industrie, Handel und Verwaltung. Der Master ist darüber hinaus Zulassungskriterium für das Doktorat, in welchem wissenschaftliches Arbeiten und die wissenschaftliche Ausbildung vertieft werden. Wenn der Master durch ein Nebenfach (Biologie, Geografie, Informatik, Mathematik oder Physik) ergänzt wird, ist es möglich ein weiteres didaktisches Programm zur Qualifikation zum Gymnasiallehrer zu absolvieren (Fähigkeitszeugnis für das Höhere Lehramt II). Zulassung zum Masterprogramm erfolgt für Studenten mit abgeschlossenem Bachelor-Studium der Universität Freiburg oder einer anderen Schweizer Universität. Studenten mit Bachelorabschluss in einem anderen Fach oder mit einem vergleichbaren Abschluss, z.B. nach dem Absolvieren einer Fachhochschule, können ebenfalls zum Masterstudium zugelassen werden.

Masterkurse werden auf Englisch, Deutsch oder Französisch unterrichtet. Für Klausuren oder schriftliche Arbeiten (Protokolle, Masterarbeit etc.) können die Studenten die Sprache selbst wählen.

Weitere Informationen


Departement of Chemistry   -   Chemin du Musée 9    -   CH-1700 Fribourg   -  Phone +41 26 / 300 87 00 or +41 26 / 300 87 30   -   Fax +41 26 / 300 97 38    -  
chimie-sciences@unifr.ch