Studying Chemistry

 

Why chemistry?

In general, chemistry is the science which aims to study the structure and transformations of matter, whether inert or living. Its scope is vast, bridging the gap between physics and biology. An important part of chemistry is the preparation of new substances, organic or inorganic (synthesis). However, at the heart of the modern science lies a detailed understanding of the properties of matter. Chemical analysis is also crucial, in direct connection with the environmental science and medicine.

 

Career opportunities

As a chemist, you will find jobs at all stages of your training. At bachelor level, you'll use your knowledge in technical sales (e.g. in marketing of high-tech devices) in the field of patents (e.g. in a consulting office) or as starting point for a master’s in another discipline. At master level, you can apply your expertise in all fields of chemistry in industry, production analysis, and sometimes in research. Obtaining a master’s degree is a crucial passage for the PhD which opens the door to industrial or academic research. Teaching gymnasium also requires obtaining a master’s.

 

Why Fribourg?

Research and education are linked

Our research groups are actively involved in teaching. Any student will be working within these groups during the advanced hands-on trainings, especially in the master’s program. Therefore, personal and flexible assistance is offered, ensuring optimal conditions during all of your studies.

 

Trilingual education

Bachelor courses are taught in French and German, master’s and PhD courses in English.

 

A personal environment

In Fribourg, the number of tutors, assistants and teachers per student is particularly high. At any time you will find someone to assist you.

 

Departement of Chemistry   -   Chemin du Musée 9    -   CH-1700 Fribourg   -  Phone +41 26 / 300 87 00 or +41 26 / 300 87 30   -   Fax +41 26 / 300 97 38    -  
chimie-sciences@unifr.ch

Chemiestudium

 

Warum Chemie?

Chemie ist eine Wissenschaft, die sich mit der Erforschung von Strukturen und Umwandlung von inerter oder lebender Materie befasst und überbrückt als vielfältiger Bereich die Kluft zwischen Biologie und Physik. Ein wichtiger Teil der Chemie befasst sich mit der Darstellung neuer Substanzen über organische oder anorganische Synthese. Im Zentrum der modernen Wissenschaften liegt das Verständnis von Stoff- und Materialeigenschaften, deren Analytik in Verbindung mit Umweltwissenschaften und Medizin geschieht.

 

Karrierechancen

Das gegliederte Studium der Chemie ermöglicht zu verschiedenen Zeitpunkten einen Eintritt in die Arbeitswelt. Auf Bachelor-Level können sie ihr Wissen im technischen Verkauf, z.B. im Marketing, und in der Arbeit an Patenten, z.B. in einem Beratungsbüro, anbringen oder den Bachelor als Startpunkt für ein Masterstudium nehmen. Nach dem Masterabschluss können sie in vielen verschiedenen Bereichen der Industrie, Produktionsanalytik oder in der Forschung tätig werden. Auch erfordert die Lehrtätigkeit an einem Gymnasium diesen Abschluss. Mit dem Master eröffnet sich gleichzeitig die Möglichkeit einer Promotion, die wiederum die Tür zu industrieller oder akademischer Forschung öffnet.

 

Warum Freiburg?

Verbindung von Forschung und Lehre

Unsere Arbeitsgruppen sind aktiv an der Lehre beteiligt. Jeder Student muss Forschungspraktika innerhalb dieser Gruppen absolvieren, insbesondere während des Master-Studiums. Hierdurch werden Studenten persönlich und flexibel betreut, was eine optimale Grundlage für das gesamte Chemiestudium darstellt.

 

Dreisprachige Lehre

Bachelor-Kurse werden auf Französisch und Deutsch unterrichtet, Master- und Doktorat-Kurse auf Englisch.

 

Eine persönliche Umgebung

In Fribourg ist das Verhältnis von Tutoren, Assistenten und Dozenten zu Studenten besonders hoch, wodurch eine enge Betreuung zu jedem Zeitpunkt gewährleistet wird.

 

Departement of Chemistry   -   Chemin du Musée 9    -   CH-1700 Fribourg   -  Phone +41 26 / 300 87 00 or +41 26 / 300 87 30   -   Fax +41 26 / 300 97 38    -  
chimie-sciences@unifr.ch