Research

Chemistry is one of the core sciences of today. The Department of Chemistry at the University of Fribourg engages in modern areas of scientific research with a strong emphasis on soft matter and nanomaterials research.

Research carried out in Fribourg includes chemistry at the molecular level, such as total synthesis of small organic molecules and the synthesis of highly functional polymers. Investigations at the nano-level deal with the supramolecular organization of organic and inorganic compounds, the functionalization of nanoparticles and all aspects of crystal engineering. In addition, the interaction of light and electrons with matter, as well as the combination of synthesis and modeling, has long been strong areas of expertise at Fribourg University.

The Chemistry Department is an active partner of the Fribourg Centre of Nanomaterials (FriMat) where interdisciplinary research between Chemistry, Physics, Biomedicine, Geosciences and the recently founded Adolphe Merkle Institute is being carried out.

The Chemistry department at Fribourg University is proud to own analytical and synthetic research facilities of the highest international standards. There are numerous collaborations as well as researchers from Europe and overseas that create an international working environment in our department. Several recent new hires make the Fribourg chemistry department one of the youngest and most dynamic in the country.

Excellent research facilities and expertise in modern areas of research create an efficient and enjoyable teaching environment at the bachelor, master and doctorate level.

Departement of Chemistry   -   Chemin du Musée 9    -   CH-1700 Fribourg   -  Phone +41 26 / 300 87 00 or +41 26 / 300 87 30   -   Fax +41 26 / 300 97 38    -  
chimie-sciences@unifr.ch

Forschung

Die Chemie gehört heute zu den wichtigsten Wissenschaften. Das Chemie-Departement der Universität Freiburg ist auf modernen Gebieten der wissenschaftlichen Forschung tätig, wobei eine besonderer Schwerpunkt auf weicher Materie und Nano-Materialforschung liegt.

Die chemische Forschung in Freiburg findet auf molekularer Ebene in Form von Totalsynthesen kleiner organischer Moleküle bzw. der Synthes hochfunktioneller Polymere statt. Auf der nanoskopischen Ebene werden hier die supramolekulare Organisation von organischen und anorganischen Verbindungen, die Funktionalisierung von Nanopartikeln, sowie molekular kontrolliertes Kristallwachstum (crystal engineering) untersucht. Die Wechselwirkung von Licht und Elektronen mit Materie, sowie die Kombination aus Synthese und modelling sind seit langem Stärken der Universität Freiburg.

Das Departement für Chemie ist ein aktiver Partner des Fribourg Centre of Nanomaterials (FriMat), wo interdisziplinäre Forschung zwischen Chemie, Physik, Biomedizin, Geowissenschaften und dem kürzlich gegründeten Adolphe Merkle Institut durchgeführt wird.

Das Freiburger Departement für Chemie verfügt über analytische und synthetische Forschungseinrichtungen der höchsten Standards. Vielfache Kooperationen mit Forschern aus Europa und weltweit schaffen ein internationales Arbeitsklima. Unterstützt durch mehrere neubesetzte Arbeitsgruppen stellen die Freiburger Forscher eines der jüngsten und dynamischsten Departemente für Chemie dar.

Hervorragende Forschungseinrichtungen und moderne Forschungsgebiete schaffen eine effiziente und angenehme Lernatmosphäre auf Bachelor-, Master- und Promotionsebene.

Departement of Chemistry   -   Chemin du Musée 9    -   CH-1700 Fribourg   -  Phone +41 26 / 300 87 00 or +41 26 / 300 87 30   -   Fax +41 26 / 300 97 38    -  
chimie-sciences@unifr.ch